Skip to main content

Managing your nRF Cloud plan

This page explains plan management and billing for nRF Cloud services. See Account and team management for more information on plans.

note

Plan management is available only to the team owner, and only through the nRF Cloud portal.

Viewing plans and pricing

The nRF Cloud portal has the most up-to-date pricing information.

Viewing service usage

You can view service usage for your team in the nRF Cloud portal or through the APIs.

In the nRF Cloud portal

See the Dashboard for an overview of your account and service usage. This is the page you see when you first log in to the nRF Cloud portal. You can also find this page in the left sidebar.

From the Dashboard, you can view these metrics:

  • The number of devices by type.
  • Total devices.
  • Total usage of nRF Cloud services, including Location Services and FOTA.
  • Location Services requests by type and the number of devices making requests.
  • Total number of messages, excluding those associated with Location Services and FOTA.

A warning icon appears next to any services near or over your plan's service limits.

Through the REST API

The following endpoints let you view some service usage information through the REST API:

  • Use the ListApiUsage endpoint to see your team's API usage for a specified date range.
  • Use the FetchApiUsageSummary endpoint to see your team's current API usage for the current and previous months. This includes the number of devices associated with the account.

Viewing plan information

This section explains the plan page, as well as how to review and change billing for your team.

When you create a new nRF Cloud account, you are the owner of a new team on the free Developer plan.

To view plans (non-owner):

  1. Log in to the nRF Cloud portal.
  2. Select View plans from the three-line menu in the upper right corner.

To view your plan (owner):

  1. Log in to the nRF Cloud portal.

  2. Click the three-line menu in the upper right corner.

  3. Select Manage Plan to view the plan for the currently selected team.

    Plans are displayed by team. To view another team's plan, click the arrow next to your user name in the top right corner and select a different team.

What you see on the Manage Plan page depends on which plan you have.

Developer

The owner of a Developer team sees the following cards:

  • Plan summary: Shows plan service limits.

The Developer plan page does not include active credit cards.

Pro and Enterprise

The owner of a Pro or Enterprise team sees the following cards:

  • Plan summary: Shows plan service limits. Includes a checkbox to disallow overage fees for requests above your plan limits.
  • Payment method: Shows default, active, and expired credit cards associated with your plan.
  • Proxy server usage: A toggle that lets you turn proxy server support on or off and define access by number of devices for each service. This applies to cloud-to-cloud use cases. The maximum number of devices you can declare for a Pro team is 2000.
note

If you disallow overage fees, nRF Cloud will refuse excess requests. Select this option only if this is suitable for your use case.

Changing your plan

The owner of a team can upgrade or downgrade the team's plan.

To change your plan:

  1. On the Manage plan page, click the Change plan button in the upper right corner.

    The plan wizard opens.

  2. You now have three options, depending on your existing plan and use case:

    • Click the Upgrade button to change from a Developer to Pro plan:

      • Follow the instructions to fill in your customer information and payment method, and choose any additional options.
      • The page prompts you to set the number of devices that access Location Services through a proxy server, if any, as well as whether to allow overage fees. You can change both of these options later from the Manage plan page. Overage fees apply to device-to-cloud and cloud-to-cloud use.
    • Click the Downgrade button to end an existing subscription. Confirm that you understand how your billing will change.

      If you have more than 10 devices associated with your account, you must delete excess devices until you are within the free limit. Otherwise, the downgrade is canceled at the end of the billing period.

      The downgrade takes effect at the end of the current billing period.

    • Click Contact sales if you want to upgrade to an Enterprise account. Send a message through the Sales related questions tab.

You can cancel a downgrade until it takes effect at the end of the current billing period:

  1. Go to the Manage Plan page. A yellow banner indicates that your plan is scheduled to be downgraded.

  2. Click Cancel downgrade.

    A pop-up opens.

  3. Confirm that you want to cancel the downgrade.

    A pop-up opens to confirm the downgrade was successfully canceled.

Managing payment methods

The team owner can add, delete, or change default payment methods.

Adding a payment method

To add a new payment method:

  1. Under the Payment method card, click Add a card. A pop-up opens.
  2. Fill in the card information.
  3. Click Register card.

The card is now registered.

Changing or deleting a payment method

To set a card as the default payment method, click Set as default next to the card. The default card must be valid and active.

To delete a payment method:

  1. Find the card under Payment method.
  2. Click Delete card.
  3. Confirm that you want to delete the card.

The card is now deleted.