Skip to content

Managing your nRF Cloud plan

This page explains plan management and billing for nRF Cloud services. See Account and team management for more information on plans.

Access

Changing a team's plan or billing is available only to the team owner and only through the nRF Cloud portal.

Viewing plans and pricing

The nRF Cloud portal has the most up-to-date pricing information.

Viewing service usage

You can view service usage for your team in the nRF Cloud portal or through the APIs.

In the nRF Cloud portal

This section explains how to view your service usage in the nRF Cloud portal.

Viewing the dashboard

See the Dashboard for an overview of your account and service usage. This is the page you see when you first log in to the nRF Cloud portal. You can also find this page in the left sidebar.

From the Dashboard, you can view these metrics:

  • The number of devices by type.
  • Total devices.
  • Total usage of nRF Cloud services, including Location Services, FOTA.
  • Location Services requests by type and the number of devices making requests.
  • Total number of messages, excluding those associated with Location Services and FOTA.
  • Enterprise only: If your plan includes an overage threshold, you can see overages according to each service.

A warning icon appears next to any services near or over your plan's service limits. Mouse over the icon for more information.

Through the REST API

The following endpoints let you view some service usage information through the REST API:

  • Use the ListApiUsage endpoint to see your team's API usage for a specified date range.
  • Use the FetchApiUsageSummary endpoint to see your team's current API usage for the current and previous months. This includes the number of devices associated with the account.
  • Use the FetchAccountInfo endpoint to view your team's current plan, costs, and limits (if applicable).

Viewing plan information

This section explains the plan page, as well as how to review and change billing for your team.

When you create a new nRF Cloud account, you are the owner of a new team on the free Developer plan. What information you can view and change depends on your role.

Non-owner

To view available plans:

  1. Log in to the nRF Cloud portal.
  2. Select View plans from the three-line menu in the upper right corner.

Owner

To view your team's plan:

  1. Log in to the nRF Cloud portal.
  2. Click the three-line menu in the upper right corner.
  3. Select Plan Settings to view the plan for the currently selected team.

Plans are displayed by team. To view another team's plan, click the arrow next to your user name in the top right corner and select a different team.

What you see on the Plan Settings page depends on which plan you have.

Developer

The owner of a Developer team sees the following cards:

  • Plan summary: Shows plan service limits.

The Developer plan page does not include active credit cards.

Pro and Enterprise

The owner of a Pro or Enterprise team sees the following cards:

  • Current monthly charges: Summarizes your charges according to usage. If you own an Enterprise team, you can also view overages here or from the Dashboard.
  • Invoices: Downloadable invoices for past months.
  • Payment method: Shows default, active, and expired credit cards associated with your plan.
  • Proxy server usage: A toggle that lets you turn proxy server support on or off and define access by number of devices for each service. This applies to cloud-to-cloud use cases. The maximum number of devices you can declare for a Pro team is 2000.

Changing your plan

The owner of a team can upgrade or downgrade the team's plan.

To change your plan:

  1. On the Plan Settings page, click the Change plan button in the upper right corner.
    The plan wizard opens.
  2. You now have three options, depending on your existing plan and use case:

    Click the Upgrade button to change from a Developer to Pro plan:

    • Follow the instructions to fill in your customer information and payment method, and choose any additional options.
    • The page prompts you to set the number of devices that access Location Services through a proxy server, if any. You can change this option later from the Plan Settings page.

    Click the Downgrade button to end an existing subscription. Confirm that you understand how your billing will change. You can also optionally indicate the reason for downgrading.

    If you have more than 10 devices associated with your account, you must delete excess devices until you are within the free limit. Otherwise, the downgrade is canceled.

    The downgrade takes effect immediately.

    Click Contact sales if you want to upgrade to an Enterprise account.

Managing payment methods

The team owner can add, delete, or change default payment methods.

To add a new payment method:

  1. Under the Payment method card, click Add a card.
    A pop-up opens.
  2. Fill in the card information.
  3. Click Register card.

The card is now registered.

To set a card as the default payment method, click Set as default next to the card. The default card must be valid and active. You cannot delete the default card.

To delete a payment method:

  1. Find the card under Payment method.
  2. Click Delete card.
  3. Confirm that you want to delete the card.

The card is now deleted.